Home Page > Faculties > Faculty of Economics > About Econ. > Econ. Now 

Faculty of Economics

In 1983, Faculty of Economics was founded by merging several leading schools and colleges in the fields of commerce, banking, and insurance. The campus and academic resources of the former Tehran Business School were also utilized for the development of the Faculty of Economics. Over the years, Faculty of Economics has recruited many highly qualified faculty members and could successfully establish itself as one of the most popular schools offering highly rigorous programs in Economic Sciences. In 2013, Faculty of Economics was split up into two Faculties: Faculty of Economics, and Faculty of Mathematical Sciences and Computer. These two Faculties, located in the same campus, have five departments offering undergraduate and postgraduate programs in various fields and majors on economics, statistics, mathematics, and computer.

As far as the Facilities are concerned, there is a well-organized specialized library and a computer centre on campus, providing educational and research services to students and the faculty members. There are also three main halls equipped with audiovisual facilities. Faculty of Economics is also home to Research Centre in Iranian Economic Sciences, one of the major academic research centres in the country. The centre is staffed and supported by ATU Faculty of Economics and is actively conducting applied research on topics related to Iran’s Economy. It also provides research support in developing curricula for graduate programs in the Faculty. The two Faculties have 61 academic staff and five departments. They offer Bachelor’s, Master’s, and PhD programs to 1263 students in various specializations related to economics, mathematics, and computer sciences.